Bad Copy: “…as individual as you are”

I’m completely sick of hearing and seeing the tagline “as individual as you are”.

I don’t know when it was used first, but that must have been the last time it had any impact whatsoever. It was quite possibly pretty good to begin with, before it started appearing on every other advertisement. I imagine the poor copywriter who originally coined the term will be turning in his grave, otherwise he’ll be really, really old and quite angry about how many people have stolen his idea.

There’s some deep irony going on in this whole sorry affair, and it doesn’t show any signs of abating. Adverts are still coming thick and fast with it proudly included, as if it’s the most original and inspirational little quip in the world. I honestly heard it earlier today, on some TV ad that I otherwise immediately blocked out of my mind.

What isn’t “individual” here is the thought process of the copywriter, as the term has been well and truly flogged to death. I actually have a physical reaction whenever I see it now (a slight grimace, followed by a shudder… which incidentally is also my automatic reaction to a terrible smell)

Here are some examples of products that are currently using this dreadful little slogan in their marketing copy;

  • Financial services
  • Guitars
  • Cars (Lots and lots of cars)
  • Houses
  • Bushfire survival plans (I’m not making this up)
  • Jewellery
  • Showers
  • Furniture
  • Helicopters (that’s right… Helicopters)

Google returns 2,180,000,000 results for the search term. That’s 2.1 billion references. I think it might be time to stop using it.

This entry was posted in Copywriting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

